PDA

View Full Version : Making Razor Blades Last a Long Time

Rick
March 30th, 2009, 5:04 PM
I used to go through a razor blade a week, Those things are expensive. Then I heard this on the radio and tried it.

Simply.....Dry them off after use. I wipe mine with a dry towel, but some people use a blow dryer. I have been doing this for a couple of years and it really makes a difference. They last a month or two now.

What causes them to go dull?

Water! It is known in the chemistry world as the universal solvent and if you leave them wet when done shaving, the blades will dull just sitting there.

CenTexDave
March 30th, 2009, 5:17 PM
Thanks for the hint.
Has anyone tried that thing being advertised on TV that supposedly sharpens all razor blades? Looks like a crock to me, but if it does work it would pay for itself in one month!

kantwin
March 30th, 2009, 6:07 PM
I'd say it's a crock.
How many of those things that you see on TV where "If you call in the next 10 minutes, we'll double the offer!" actually are worth something?
I'd say it's probably a mathematical equation. Somewhere averaging around 5 out of 0.
Or, it could be expressed as 5/0.
Meaining, ZERO.

Rick
March 30th, 2009, 6:08 PM
I don't think a precision sharpening can occur by spinning sandpaper on something. I call it a crock.

Dagobert II
March 30th, 2009, 6:12 PM
This sounds like a show for Mythbusters.

FieryPrincess
March 30th, 2009, 6:16 PM
I LOVE those gripper thingies so I don't have to bend over to pick the trash from the floor at school.

I just wish they were sturdier - the inside threads are plastic and rip out after too much vigorous usage.

CenTexDave
March 30th, 2009, 8:28 PM
I'd say it's a crock.
How many of those things that you see on TV where "If you call in the next 10 minutes, we'll double the offer!" actually are worth something?
I'd say it's probably a mathematical equation. Somewhere averaging around 5 out of 0.
Meaining, ZERO.