PDA

View Full Version : Planting grass

Scarlett
September 12th, 2010, 12:55 PM
I am reseeding my lawn this weekend...what suggestions do y'all have for what kind of grass seed I should get, and where I should get it? I have ZERO knowledge on this stuff. My father is driving down from Kansas to help me out, but if anyone is bored and wants to help...just saying....

Mestral
September 12th, 2010, 2:21 PM
If you have full sunlight, I would go with Bermuda or St Augustine. You can't always get the stuff as seed, though. Some kinds are only available as sod. For shaded areas, Palmetto St Augustine seems to do well. I am no expert, but maybe someone around here will see my pathetic advice and add some real knowledge to it.

The most important things I have observed in this area, though, are to have a good base dirt (at least 4 inches think) and some means of keeping it from eroding until the grass is established. I have seen several well intended efforts completely fail because the good soil was gone before the grass could get a good hold.

THEMEANOGRE
September 12th, 2010, 2:54 PM
I know very little about planting grass. But I do know that St Augustine takes hold and covers the ground pretty quickly. I don't know about starting it from seed, but some friends got enough St Augie sod to do about 1/4 of their yard and placed the squares a few feet apart and had a yard full before the end of the season. St Augustine also has the virtue that it doesn't grow very high and thus needs little grooming.

Mestral
September 12th, 2010, 5:17 PM