PDA

View Full Version : Daycare

christine
August 4th, 2010, 9:41 AM
Ok the time has come that I unfortunately have to put Bubba in daycare for atleast a few days a week.
Can anyone give me some tips on what to look for & stay away from in a daycare?
He will be a year old in Oct when I enroll him somewhere and I'm new at this. I just want to know what to expect.

xzochye
August 4th, 2010, 10:48 AM
I have several friends that have been on the daycare hunt this summer. I know that each one of them have shown up at the daycares unannounced and at random times of the day to do a walk through and observe what is going on inside the classrooms.

Both ladies have said that the new Motherly Love ( I think that is the name), on Stan Schlueter next to the chiropractor and light store is horrible. They walked in to hear people yelling at kids and the place was very dirty. These 2 ladies were not together and went at different times,days.

christine
August 4th, 2010, 11:04 AM
Wow that scares me to think someone like that might be watching my son.
I should have mentioned I'm in the Dallas area but hey it's good for others here to know what is going on in a local daycare. Did anyone report how dirty it was atleast?
Random walk throughs are a good idea I'll have to do that.

THEMEANOGRE
August 4th, 2010, 11:27 AM
Before you do a walk through, have a sit down with the director. Get info on ratio of cared for to care givers. Get a list of at least 7 client references. Call them ALL, not just one or two. Check with BBB, find out about complaints. Ask to see health department inspection reports. Go to health department, ask to see their reports. These are in no particular order.

christine
August 4th, 2010, 11:38 AM
What is the BBB?

THEMEANOGRE
August 4th, 2010, 11:39 AM
Better Business Bureau

babyblue
August 4th, 2010, 2:10 PM