PDA

View Full Version : I hate the Longhorn network

LauraA
September 4th, 2014, 11:31 AM
Ok, I will start this by saying I am not a Texas graduate. I graduated from University of Louisville and went to grad school at University of Nebraska. So granted, I am not part of the Longhorn community.
However, I watched the first (and last) game I will ever watch on this network. I watched the UT vs UNT game and the whole game is basically a discussion of UT football. They barely discussed the opposing team. It was the worst sportscasting I have seen. Mike Shannon drunk calling a St. Louis cardinals game was better than this.
My question is why would someone want to watch such a one sided conversation about the game. Knowing the strengths and weaknesses of both teams is what makes it interesting. I will never watch another game on this network. If they play on ESPN or network TV, ok, but not this network.
:soapbox Ok, I'll get off my soapbox now, lol.

cnjbond
September 4th, 2014, 12:30 PM
So "Longhorn Network" didn't give it away for you? :)
To be honest, I'm not sure if there are many tu fans that tune in to that conference killing network.

sojourner truth
September 4th, 2014, 12:30 PM
Yeah... It's like trying to watch a Rangers game on FOX sports southwest..

The team is so far in last place that even the DisAstros look like superheroes, but to listen to the 2 Rangers announcers, the Rangers are the greatest thing since pushup bras.

And I think that the way they always talk up things is actually jinxing the team... As sure as they say "And the winning run is coming to the plate" the batter will hit into an unassisted triple play... Every time.

Then, the after game show has nothing that passes for reality of what happened on the field.. I always wind u[p asking myself if these guys are actually watching the same sorry game I was watching.

CenTexDave
September 4th, 2014, 12:42 PM