Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: South African Boerboel

Post Thanks / Like

South African Boerboel

Later this week I will be receiving a Boreboel that has been donated to me, so I can get her trained and hopefully use as a therapy dog. I'm a SPED teacher and I also volunteer at a couple of different places with sick or special needs children. The lady that I'm getting her from said that she may have an umbilical cord hernia. Is something I need to worry about, or will it heal with time? The puppy is 8 weeks old. I've done quite a bit of research on the breed and from what I've read and what the breeder has told me they make a good therapy dog. I would love any information on having a dog trained, and if anyone has any first hand info on Boerboels that would be great. I've looked online and Petco's has the training classes which include good citizen classes, which will help prepare you for the therapy dog training. If you know of any other places I can go to get all of the training, please let me know.

Post Thanks / Like
    Call Parks and Rec. They have a really awesome dog and puppy training class. It is cheaper than Pets Mart and the class size is also smaller.

3. Thanks spedkiddos, SamBrown thanked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks a lot... Killeen or Heights?

Post Thanks / Like
    Killeen. If I remember tomorrow I will look through the papers/ certificates that I have and find the lady's name that does it. She worked wonders with my crazy hyper dog.

Post Thanks / Like
    Have this pup examined as soon as possible and make sure that you have a proper vaccine protocol in place. Spring time in Central Texas is prime parvo and distemper season so pups must be protected. Also make sure that the umbilical hernia is checked out as well. These hernias are usually no big deal unless they are of sufficient size where a piece of intestine can become entrapped within. Umbilical hernias can be repaired easily when she is spayed.