PDA

View Full Version : What qualities do you look for when searching for a massage therapist/salon?

christy1969
October 29th, 2011, 12:10 PM
Hello! I am a licensed massage therapist looking to get some new views on various topics that involve massage therapy! I would like your honest word and will not be offended by any response! So here is my first question:

What qualities do you look for when searching for a massage therapist/salon? From looks to prices and anywhere in between, please be descriptive in your answers! Thanks

FieryPrincess
October 29th, 2011, 1:13 PM
I cannot exist pain-free without regular massage therapy because of a medical condition.

I look for hours (nights/weekends) that don't conflict with work. I look for a fair price for the work done. I require clinical trigger point work and lots of therapists in the past have left me feeling bruised for a few days afterwards. What has to be done for me isn't always pleasant, but my current therapist gets the job done very well and I don't feel bruised and sore the next day.

If I am in just for relaxation purposes, then I probably won't be very chatty. Don't take it personally.

Currently I go through one of those little chain-style places (because I found an awesome therapist there) and because the price is so low, I tip extra.

THEMEANOGRE
October 29th, 2011, 1:36 PM
I look at price, house calls. I appreciate a therapist with beefy elbows. Also, someone who knows how to work deeeep without wearing out their hands.

Scarlett
October 29th, 2011, 9:48 PM
Beefy elbows? Ewww....

Night Owl
October 29th, 2011, 10:22 PM
I refuse to answer because I would get in BIG trouble.:)

My wife goes often and she does not like deep muscle massages. She enjoys soft music and lots of communication. She is a woman.:)

Scarlett
October 29th, 2011, 10:34 PM
I refuse to answer because it will come out all wrong and my reputation will be ruined. 8-;

xzochye
October 29th, 2011, 11:09 PM